No shortage of storylines at this year’s Masters

Apr 8, 2015, 2:54 PM | Updated: 3:28 pm

A longshot to win, Seattle native Fred Couples would become the oldest Masters champion at 55. (AP)...

A longshot to win, Seattle native Fred Couples would become the oldest Masters champion at 55. (AP)


With the question of Tiger Wood’s participation now answered, golf’s most anticipated tournament kicks off this week with no shortage of storylines.

Yes, Tiger is in – the question is, for how long? Woods says he feels like his game is finally in a spot where he can compete and win, although many wonder if he will even make the cut. With the attention now shifting from injury to ability, it’s likely his performance this week will be the only indication of whether or not he’s back for good. For now.

All eyes will be on world No. 1 Rory McIlroy as he looks to make history as the seventh male golfer (13th counting both the men and women) to complete a career grand slam. McIlroy is currently favored to win at 11/2.

With a win, Bubba Watson would join the elite eight who have already won the Masters three or more times. He would also be only the second player in Masters history to win three times in a four-year span. Watson says that Augusta National is a good fit for his style. Add to that, a top-15 finish or better in every tournament that he’s played in this year, and win No. 3 could be very likely.

At 21 years old, Jordan Spieth has already claimed four professional wins and 25 top-10 finishes. In his first attempt playing in last year’s Masters, Spieth nearly accomplished what hadn’t been done in 35 years – a rookie win. With two recent second-place finishes and a current career-high No.4 world ranking, Spieth has earned his place as a favorite.

We can’t leave out Northwest natives Ryan Moore and Fred Couples. Moore is playing well right now. With one win and three top-10 finishes already this season, he currently ranks 11th in the FedExCup Standings. And while the odds are less likely for Couples, a win for the 55-year-old would not only make him the oldest Masters champion – breaking Jack Nicklaus’ record set at the age of 46 – but would also mark the longest stretch between wins at 23 years.

Northwest Golf

Trish Johnson finished 8-under to win the Suquamish Clearwater Legends Cup. (Rick Sharp photo)... Staff

Trish Johnson wins Suquamish Clearwater Legends Cup at Kingston’s White Horse Golf Club

Trish Johnson of Great Britain won the Suquamish Clearwater Legends Cup, a Legends Tour golf tournament held at White Horse Golf Club in Kingston on Saturday and Sunday.

6 years ago

Wendy Ward of Edwall, Wash., will compete in the Squamish Clearwater Legends Cup. (AP)... Staff

Suquamish Clearwater Legends Cup brings LPGA Legends Tour to White Horse Golf Club

The LPGA Legends Tour is making its way to the White Horse Golf Club in Kingston this weekend.

6 years ago

World No. 1 Lydia Ko of New Zealand arrives a Sahalee having won the last two LGPA majors. (AP)...

Shon Crewe

Previewing the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship field at Sahalee

With all of the top 100 players competing this week at the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship at Sahalee, the field is arguably one of the strongest on the LPGA Tour's schedule. Shon Crew takes a closer look at some of the favorites.

8 years ago

Sightlines were among the issues for spectators who attended the U.S. Open at Chambers Bay. (AP)...

Jim Moore

Suggestions for Chambers Bay: Fix greens, access if U.S. Open returns

After attending the U.S. Open, Jim Moore offers this for Chambers Bay's suggestion box: Make the greens less tricky and improve the sightlines for spectators if the tournament ever returns.

9 years ago

While the world watches the U.S. Open at Chambers Bay, more attention locally seems to be the Seaha...

Jim Moore

Even at Chambers Bay, U.S. Open still takes back seat to Seahawks

The U.S. Open at Chambers Bay is the biggest sporting event to ever be held in our area, yet more people are more interested in the Seahawks even though they're 2 1/2 months from starting their regular season.

9 years ago

Michael Putnam, who grew up a mile from Chambers Bay, hopes his familiarity with the course will be...

Jim Moore

Ryan Moore, Michael Putnam are hometown favorites at U.S. Open

Ryan Moore of Puyallup and Michael Putnam of University Place are two most notable golfers who will be taking aim at the U.S. Open title at Chambers Bay.

9 years ago

No shortage of storylines at this year’s Masters