SEATTLE SEAHAWKS

Pete Carroll Preview: Seahawks looking to turn page vs ‘unique’ Eagles

Dec 15, 2023, 11:33 AM | Updated: Dec 17, 2023, 2:06 pm

Seattle Seahawks Pete Carroll...

Seattle Seahawks coach Pete Carroll during a Nov. 30, 2023 game against the Dallas Cowboys. (Ron Jenkins/Getty Images)

(Ron Jenkins/Getty Images)

The Seattle Seahawks will look to snap a four-game losing streak this Monday against the Philadelphia Eagles, and as the losing streak would indicate, things haven’t gone well for the team of late.

Huard: Seattle Seahawks’ interior O-line a big part of run game struggles

Seattle went from 5-2 and atop the NFC West to 6-7 and outside the NFC playoff picture.

“Our guys are on it. These guys have been with us, they understand we’ve communicated well enough and for long enough time,” head coach Pete Carroll said during this week’s Pete Carroll Preview on KIRO Newsradio 97.3 FM Friday morning. “These guys, they know me, they know what we’re expecting and what our program is all about. And they’re disappointed, too, that we’re not doing the stuff we need to do to win these games.”

During this stretch, the Hawks have lost to Baltimore, Dallas, Los Angeles and San Francisco twice.

“The games have been very difficult. We’ve been right there, but we haven’t got the wins,” Carroll said. “Everybody’s upset about that. We’re not happy about that.”

It doesn’t get much easier with a Philly team coming to town that is 10-3 and made the Super Bowl last season.

“We look at the situation where we are right now and kind of as it always seems to be, we’ve got to win this next game. There’s five other teams that are battling for this playoff spot, and so we’re right there with them,” Carroll said. “We have to take care of business and make sure that nothing from before will take (away from) our focus and our attention to detail moving forward. And so it happens to be Philadelphia, and these guys are a fantastic team and NFC champs and all that. This is a really big opportunity for us as these have continued to be. We have to come through.”

“I have no hesitation that our guys are wanting to do things right, practice well — we practiced beautifully this week and focus was good, communications was on it. But yeah, frustration? Yeah, that’s legit,” Carroll later added. “I’m not worried about telling you that. We just want to get this thing going to get moving again.”

When looking at the Eagles, Carroll called them a “unique” football team, particularly on offense with quarterback Jalen Hurts.

“It’s a unique offense because of Jalen and the way he plays. It’s not just that he can run. It’s just the way he handles himself and the poise that he has and the style of play that they present using his talents,” Carroll said. “They’re unusual and they’re unique and we’ve got to make our adjustments this week and see if we can take care of business. He’s got some great weapons around him, too. But he is really the big deal. He does hold the football quite a bit and he does, he does take off and run and he’s very effective …  He’s a big scorer with the ball his hands, too. They use him in critical situations  to run the football. That makes him the double threat. We’ve got our hands full, and hopefully we can put this thing together and get these guys.”

Listen to the full Pete Carroll Show at this link or in the player near the top of this story.

Catch the Seattle Seahawks Radio Network broadcast of the Monday night game against the Philadelphia Eagles on Seattle Sports 710 AM, KIRO Newsradio 97.3 FM, or the official apps of Seattle Sports, KIRO Newsradio and the Seahawks. For more details on how to stream Seahawks Radio Network broadcasts, click here.

Wyman: Confident in Seattle Seahawks’ Drew Lock if he starts vs Eagles?

Seattle Seahawks

Seattle Seahawks Geno Smith Commanders 2023...

Cameron Van Til

Brock: The area where Seahawks’ Geno Smith is a top-five QB

Brock Huard explains an area where he thinks Seattle Seahawks quarterback Geno Smith ranks among the top five in the NFL.

6 hours ago

Seattle Seahawks DK Metcalf...

Zac Hereth

Will Seahawks sign DK Metcalf to second extension? Insider weighs in

ESPN NFL insider Bill Barnwell assesses the potential of a second contract extension for Seattle Seahawks wide receiver DK Metcalf.

1 day ago

Dallas Cowboys QB Dak Prescott Seattle Seahawks...

Zac Hereth

Insider: Why Seahawks could be in on Dak Prescott next offseason

ESPN NFL insider Bill Barnwell explains why Dak Prescott to the Seattle Seahawks next offseason isn't as far-fetched as it sounds.

2 days ago

Seattle Seahawks Ryan Grubb 2024 rookie minicamp...

Cameron Van Til

Baldinger: The biggest jump new Seahawks OC Grubb will face in NFL

NFL Network's Brian Baldinger explains the biggest transition for Seattle Seahawks offensive coordinator Ryan Grubb as he moves to the NFL.

2 days ago

Seattle Seahawks Riq Woolen Devon Witherspoon...

Brent Stecker

Will Seahawks be missing on the NFL’s annual Top 100 list?

Members of the Seattle Seahawks used to be all over the NFL Top 100 list, but that seems unlikely this year. So which players have a case?

3 days ago

Potential Seattle Seahawks UFL target Carlos Davis...

Zac Hereth

ESPN insider names two more UFL players Seahawks could target

ESPN Seattle Seahawks insider Brady Henderson assesses if Seattle could be in on more UFL players after signing RB Ricky Person Jr.

3 days ago

Pete Carroll Preview: Seahawks looking to turn page vs ‘unique’ Eagles