Share this story...
Latest News

UW’s Austin Seferian-Jenkins wins Mackey Award

Despite a down season statistically, Austin Seferian-Jenkins has been voted the nation’s top tight end. (AP)

By Brady Henderson

Washington’s Austin Seferian-Jenkins has won the John Mackey Award, which is given annually to the nation’s top tight end.

The award was announced Wednesday.

Seferian-Jenkins becomes the first Husky to win the Mackey Award since its inception in 2000, and he does so despite what by his standards would be considered a down season statistically. Seferian-Jenkins has 33 receptions for 413 yards and seven touchdowns with a bowl game remaining, numbers that are down from a year ago when he was a finalist for the award but did not win it.

Seferian-Jenkins also becomes the first Husky to win a national player of the year award since defensive tackle Steve Emtman won the Lombardi Award and the Outland Trophy after the 1991 season.

Seferian-Jenkins will be presented with the award Thursday during a ceremony that will air at 3 p.m. on ESPNU. Eric Ebron of North Carolina and Nick O’Leary of Florida State were the other finalists for the award.

Washington’s Bishop Sankey is up for the Doak Walker Award, which goes to the nation’s best running back. The winner will be announced during the awards show, which will air Thursday on ESPN at 4.

Seferian-Jenkins, a junior from Fox Island, Wash. who’s already the most prolific tight end in school history, has submitted paperwork to the NFL Draft evaluation committee, which is common for players who are considering entering the draft with a year of eligibility remaining.