Share this story...
Latest News

UW’s Sankey, WSU’s Bucannon first team All-Pac-12

By staff

The Pac-12 released its all-conference teams and postseason awards Monday, with Washington running back Bishop Sankey and Washington State defensive back Deone Bucannon both selected as first team All-Pac-12.

Sankey, a junior, ranks second in the NCAA with a Washington single-season record 1,775 rushing yards. The Spokane product also has 18 touchdowns on the ground.

sankey upright

Washington running back Bishop Sankey broke the school single-season rushing record on his way to earning first team All-Pac-12 honors. (AP)

Bucannon, a senior safety, has five interceptions and leads WSU with 109 total tackles.

The Pac-12 named Arizona running back Ka’Deem Carey Offensive Player of the Year, and Arizona State defensive end Will Sutton took the Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year Award. Coach of the Year went to Todd Graham of Arizona State, and UCLA linebacker/running back Myles Jack, an alum of Bellevue High School, was named Freshman Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year.

Washington junior tight end Austin Seferian-Jenkins (413 yards receiving, seven touchdowns), junior defensive end Hau’oli Kikaha (61 tackles, 10 sacks, two forced fumbles), sophomore defensive back Marcus Peters (five interceptions, 53 tackles, two fumble recoveries), and senior punter Travis Coons (40.7 yards per punt) were all named second team All-Pac-12. Coons was also honorable mention as placekicker.

Washington had seven additional honorable mentions: OL Dexter Charles; OL Mike Criste; OL Micah Hatchie; DB Sean Parker; QB Keith Price; DL Danny Shelton; and LB Shaq Thompson.

Washington State had five honorable mentions: OL Elliott Bosch; WR River Cracraft; PK Andrew Furney; and DB Damante Horton.