Share this story...
Latest News

Richard Sherman, Seahawks win awards at ESPYs

Cornerback Richard Sherman and the rest of his Seahawks teammates were honored Wednesday at the ESPYs, ESPN’s annual awards show.

The Seahawks were named the best team over five other champions – the MLB’s Red Sox, NHL’s Kings, NBA’s Spurs, Connecticut women’s basketball and Florida State football. Sherman took home the award for best breakthrough athlete, beating out Eagles quarterback Nick Foles, Blazers guard Damian Lillard and Yankees pitcher Masahiro Tanaka.

Quarterback Russell Wilson was nominated for best NFL player, an award that went to Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning. Pete Carroll lost out to UConn’s Geno Auriemma for the best coach/manager award.

Here’s a photo gallery of the event.